National Park Quarter Program

After the success of the Statehood Quarter Program it was only a matter of time before a new idea cropped up for the Washington Quarters. On June 4th, 2008 a new series of commemorative quarters was proposed: H.R. 6184: America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008. President Bush signed the bill into law only six months later on December 8th, 2008.

Starting in 2010, after the release of the final territories in the 50 State Quarters Program and the District of Columbia and U.S. Territory Program, the U.S. Mint will begin issuing the National Park Quarters. There will be at least 56 quarters, “emblematic of a national park or other national site in each State, The District of Columbia, and each territory of the United States.” Five quarters will be released a year with the final quarters coming out in the year 2020. In a chronological fashion, the quarters will be released in the order that the national parks and sites were first established.

The National Park Program could run for another 11 years if the Secretary of the Treasury should decide to extend the program. If the program is extended there could potentially be 112 coins total honoring our national parks and sites.

No products were found matching your selection.